RSS

Letting go…

06 Oct

There are points in our lives when it is essential that we let go….of our fear, our guilt, our shame, our past, our disappointment, all those negative feelings in order to move forward and continue on our journey towards…for me its happiness and being the best me that I can be.

Right now I am feeling guilty that I didn’t blog last week, which means that I did not achieve a target that I set for myself. I have no valid reason for not blogging. I could use that guilt to stop me from blogging or use it to as an excuse to stopping. Nah, that’s not going to happen…not today at any rate.

In my last post, I spoke about Love & Fear, sometimes after facing our fears, we need time to let go. When we think of letting go, we think in terms of relationships, whether they be business or personal. Someone who I had been sharing a particularly frustrating time with, told me after listening to all that I had to say, that my problem was that I hadn’t let go.

Self-reflection is essential if we wish to grow as individuals, so although offended and hurt by their comment, I decided to take stock of what we were discussing and see if this was really the reason I was still struggling in dealing with the breakdown of that relationship. Now, the one thing I love about coaching, is that it recognises from the get go, that we are all different, we see things differently, we approach things differently, we interpret actions and even sentences differently as well as solving problems differently. I understood what the person was saying and in many ways it made sense, yet, it wasn’t the full story.

Letting go, for me is a process….and sometimes processes take time, longer in some case than we would like. For many it’s changing a behaviour or a routine as well as going through the mental steps to saying goodbye to whatever it is we need to leave behind in order to move forward. I’m still working through that process in a number of areas, coaching has certainly helped me figure out how best I work, and what I need to do to do to move forward. Practice does make perfect and it’s getting easier to say goodbye to the things that drag me down so that I can focus on moving forward and creating a positive space in which I am able to truly achieve.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 6, 2015 in Coaching

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Letting go…

  1. mineralsis

    October 6, 2015 at 6:19 pm

    Letting go seems to be a recurring theme in my life lately. I’m glad I’m not the only one.

    Like

     
    • K-Ann

      October 18, 2015 at 3:21 am

      It’s been a tough 18 months, you got to just keep on keeping on…focus on the positive and put one foot in front of the other! And it’s great knowing I’m not the only one too!!

      Like

       

Leave a comment